Team News

Dalton out to maintain ARC podium place

Shamrock Motorsport driver, Richie Dalton, heads into the fifth round of the Australian Rally Championship this weekend in red-hot form.

Sydney-based Dalton is fresh off a victory in the recent round of the NSW Rally Championship in Batemans Bay, where he lit up the forests in his Toyota Yaris AP4.

Dalton is looking to defend his current second placing in the national series after a successful season so far.

Aside from series leader Harry Bates, he has been the most consistent driver over the first three rounds, with round four in Queensland cancelled because of heavy rain last month.

His regular co-driver, Dale Moscatt, currently leads the co-driver’s championship.

“We’ve had a good start to the season and we’ve been building our speed throughout,” Dalton said.

Second place in Western Australia in round two was followed by third in Tasmania, and the ARC now heads to the Gippsland Rally, an event Dalton did last year.

“I’m one of the only regular ARC drivers who did the event last year as a state championship rally.

“That was in my Mk2 Escort, but it means I’ll have good pace notes for most of the stages already, which should be an advantage.

“It was a rally I really enjoyed, and I can’t wait to tackle it in the Yaris AP4.”

Richie Dalton currently sits second in the Australian Rally Championship.

The Rally of the Bay victory a fortnight ago was just the preparation he needed and came after a rally-long battle with Coffs Harbour’s Clayton Hoy in a Mitsubishi.

The pair slugged it out all day, and couldn’t be separated after the final stage.

“It was a tremendous battle with Clayton and I was able to get a really good feeling in the car,” he added.

“I can’t wait to get back behind the wheel again and push hard for another podium at ARC level.”

The Gippsland Rally runs over two days in south-eastern Victoria and has attracted a 57-car field.

Australian Rally Championship point score after 4 of 7 rounds:

  1. Harry Bates, Toyota, 311 points
  2. Richie Dalton, Toyota, 205 points
  3. Lewis Bates, Toyota, 182 points
  4. Troy Dowel, Hyundai, 158 points
  5. Tom Clarke, Ford, 115 points
  6. Taylor Gill, Subaru, 104 points